ABA’s CFSC Meeting to Feature CFPB, FTC, Consumer Attorneys

I’ll be heading to Park City, Utah this weekend for the Winter Meeting of the American Bar Association’s Consumer Financial Services Committee. The focus of the CFSC is on all things in consumer financial services law — payment systems, deposit accounts, fair lending and yes, debt collection.Ski, winter season , mountains and ski equipments

This meeting is going to feature several panel discussions with officials from the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau and the Federal Trade Commission along with well-known consumer advocates all discussing issues surrounding debt collection. Enforcement actions, the recent ANPR, TCPA litigation and CFPB regulation of attorneys are among the topics we’ll cover. 

As always, this is going to be a high-level discussion with some of the most respected attorneys involved in shaping consumer financial services law. There is nothing else like this meeting for consumer financial services lawyers. If you want to attend, head over to CFSC’s website.

Rachel Marin and I will be live blogging the event beginning Sunday, Jan. 12, at 10:30 a.m. ET (7:30 a.m. PT) and will finish on Monday. And, I’ll be bringing you unique insights from the three panel discussions in which I am slated to participate in a few posts from Park City.

This is a subscriber-only event. If you already are a subscriber to The Consumer Financial Services Blog, you’ll receive an email with the link and password to the live blog event and get a reminder email before each live blog event begins. That’s a great reason to subscribe today (which you can do in the box to the right).

So, here’s our line-up:

January 12

10:30am ET/7:30am PT –
CFPB and FTC Enforcement Actions
Among the panelists are Malini Mithal from the FTC and Ori Lev from the CFPB. We’ll get insight into what drives an enforcement action, its progression and maybe an inside look at what’s on the regulators’ minds.

2:45pm ET/11:45am PT –
Debt Collection: The CFPB Steps into the Fray
I will be speaking on the questionable authority of the CFPB to regulate collection attorneys or demand production of their client’s confidential information and documents. On the panel with me is Lucy Morris, Deputy Enforcement Director of the CFPB, Dan Hedges of Mountain State Justice and Tim Collins from Convergent. 

January 13

11:00am ET/8:00am PT –
Litigating the TCPA in 2014: Consumer and Defense Perspectives
I will be moderating this panel discussion of TCPA litigation. Included on the panel is Paul Bland from Public Justice. We’ll be looking back at 2013’s TCPA litigation and ahead to what’s expected this year. Zach Miller from Burr Forman will discuss the TCPA defense work he has been doing of late. I expect we are going to see some fireworks here.

12:00pm ET/9:00am PT
CFPB and Furnisher FCRA Obligations
The CFPB issued a Bulletin this past summer providing guidance to furnishers under FCRA. This panel will examine the CFPB’s expectations for furnishers and I’m hoping we’ll hear what’s driving FCRA investigations and enforcement actions. 

1:00pm ET/10:00am PT
A Look at the Bureau’s Proposed Debt Collection Rule Making
In November, the CFPB issued an Advance Notice of Proposed Rulemaking under the FDCPA. I am honored to be discussing the ANPR with Don Lampe of Morrison Foerster. Don has been a leader in consumer financial services law for some time and was a major force behind the ABA’s efforts to protect attorneys from the FCRA’s “Red Flag Rules.” Don and I will discuss the ANPR, its impact on attorneys and the ABA’s Consumer Financial Services Committee’s response to the ANPR’s request for comments. 

There you have it. It’s a lot to cover in two days, but it is sure to give us a greater understanding of the fast-changing landscape in consumer financial services law.

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Donald Maurice provides counsel to the financial services industry, successfully litigating matters in the state and federal courts in individual and class actions. He has successfully argued before the Third, Fourth and Eighth Circuit U.S. Courts of Appeals, and has represented the financial services industry before several courts including as counsel for amicus curiae before the United States Supreme Court. He counsels clients in regulatory actions before the CFPB, and other federal and state regulators and in the development and testing of debt collection compliance systems. Don is peer-rated AV by Martindale-Hubbell, the worldwide guide to lawyers. In addition to being a frequent speaker and author on consumer financial services law, he serves as outside counsel to RMA International, on the governing Board of Regents of the American College of Consumer Financial Services Lawyers and on the Governing Committee of the Conference on Consumer Finance Law. From 2014 to 2017, he chaired the ABA's Bankruptcy and Debt Collection Subcommittee.